Happiness and Work

Happiness and Work

01Choose a job you love and you will never have to work a day in your life ~ Confucius

Today the topic I would like to address is happiness and work.  I think I speak for everyone when I say no one wants a job and by a job I mean something you go to day after day because you have to in order to get paid.  Now, a lot of you may be shaking your head, wait a minute that is what a job is supposed to be.  What I want to talk about today is that none of us should have a job, we should get paid to do something that increases, not detracts from our happiness.

Growing up I watched a lot of people around me go to work day after day at jobs they hated.  They did this to support their families and they felt utterly trapped in this existence.  I vowed at that point that I would never be in that position.  What it took for me to guarantee that was to make sure I’d always have opportunities.  That meant getting educated, developing solid work habits and coming to a significant understanding about what I really wanted to do with my life.  It wasn’t an easy road; I detoured through failing out of college, struggles with drugs and alcohol, and racking up a significant amount of loan debt.  However in the end I work in education at the community college level, exactly where I want to be, and I make a great living, plus 4 weeks vacation and another dozen holidays off doesn’t hurt.

The point of all of this is that you have to find something you love, if you don’t, you will really impact your happiness negatively.  To get to this point a lot of courage is involved, it may mean taking the risk of going back to school, or changing career tracks, or even doing something outside the mainstream expectations of society.  But at the end of it, we work over 2000 hours a year, we typically work about 40 years, that’s 80,000 hours we spend at work, don’t be unhappy for such a significant part of your life, it’s not worth it.  Have a happy day friends.

Other Posts You Might Enjoy!

Cycles of Happiness

Happy Mistakes

Making Change Happen

Happiness is Not Safety

Great Hikes & Treks

 

About Michael Kane

Michael Kane is a writer, photographer, educator, speaker, adventurer and a general sampler of life. His books on hiking and poetry are available in soft cover and Kindle on Amazon.
This entry was posted in personal happiness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Happiness and Work

  1. Pingback: Simplest Formula for Happiness | The Ministry of Happiness

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.