Happiness and a Plan

So recently I picked up Gretchen Rubin’s Happiness Project book, I’ve shared her website with you before.  Gretchen’s basic premise is that you have to plan for your happiness, a pretty good idea.  So today I’m going to share with you my current plan and ask you to think about your plan as well.  This whole discussion all reminds me of the typical conversation I have with students about their career direction.  It goes like this:

Me:  So what career are you thinking might work for you?

Student:  I don’t know.

Me:  Ok, so what are you doing to figure it out.

Student:  I’m taking some classes.

Me: Like English and Math that you’d need for any major?

Student: Yeah.

Me: Are you doing anything else?

Student: Not really.

This conversation always comes round to two things, one decisions don’t just magically get made.  Second, if we don’t think, plan and then act, then are decisions are taken away from us.  One of the things that we seem not to do is to take time to think about things.  Like the students, I would ask you, have you ever taken even 20 minutes to just sit and think, what would make you happier?  Just some time to sit and think about it, then make a plan and then put it into action.  This is not an easy thing to do but if you want to be happier, or lose weight, or gain knowledge then it takes work, there are no magic solutions.

Currently for me, I know what will make me happier.  That would be to be writing full-time or at least half-time while also consulting and speaking, the 9 to 5 thing is just not cutting it for me anymore.  So I took some time to think and after that to plan.  My plan to establish a couple of blogs, deepen my expertise in a couple of areas, start doing more speaking engagements and then publish some books.  I’m on my way friends and since you’re reading this, well, you’re participating in the plan and yes that means I expect you to buy books when they come out.

I hope you find the time to think, the space to plan and the will to take action.  I wish for the best you in this endeavor and if I can help, let me know.  Have a happy day my friends!

About revmichaelkane

Michael Kane is an educator, change agent, adventurer and general sampler of life.
This entry was posted in happiness resources, personal happiness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

